Bannack Best

Before:

f/5.6; 1/80; 5/25/2011; Canon Rebel XT

All I did to edit this picture was to increase the saturation to bring out the lovely colors and tones. I love the colors in this piece of wood! Then I played with the mid tones in the adjustment levels so that the shadow wouldn’t be too heavy. That was all the editing that was done to it!

Before HDR:

f/32; 1/40; 5/25/2011; Canon Rebel XT

I used a tripod for this shot. I took this up by the mill where I had a good view of the majority of the ghost town. I shot it with three different exposure so that Photomatix could take the best lighting of each shot and make one good photo. I used Photomatix’s grunge effect to make it look like a storybook illustration.

Before:

f/5.6; 1/50; 5/25/2011; Canon Rebel XT

I used a gold reflector to give her a little bit more warm light. I shot this in the saloon. I smoothed out her skin using Photoshop’s eyedropper and paintbrush tool. I didn’t do much more editing because the light was already so nice!

Before:

f/5.0; 1/800; 5/25/2011; Canon Rebel XT

I edited this image by making in a smart object and adding an artistic filter onto it called accented edges. I played with the levels to make it a little bit brighter. Then I increased the saturation to bring out the lovely shades of mint and pink. Bannack pictures are so dark and spooky. Here I got a shot that turned out, well, pretty.

Before:

f/5.6; 1/320; 5/25/2011; Canon Rebel XT

You can see not much editing was done to this shot. All I did was increase the shadows and saturation. When I did that it really brought out that grainy old-fashioned feel to the image.

~ by stinky on May 31, 2011.

Leave a comment